Eat, (PR)ay, Love

Why should you spend your summer in a foreign country interning full-time? Because it would be foolish not to. Upon returning from my six week internship in Dubai, I must be cliche and admit it changed my life. I  lived in the hub of the Middle East, a gateway to Asia and Africa, I built friendships with perfect strangers, and became a little less picky about what I ate. I left the United States excited about the opportunities this trip would provide for my career, but the more time I spent there, PR seemed to become secondary to what I was learning as a person. Of course professionally I gained invaluable experiences by being an integral part of the healthcare practice team. I was able to do everything from pitching for accounts to presenting in a workshop. The bonds built with my coworkers was something I never experienced after holding six internships. The contacts I made will serve me well in my last quickly approaching year of college. But it was so much more than that.

Dubai was the best place to begin my global exploration, where over 80% of the population is expatriate and most people called many other places home. I caught glimpses of the most beautiful elegant women on earth, wearing abayas, some you could not even see their hands. Stop signs were optional in a place where 30 years ago it was pure desert sands. Water costs more than juice or soda, and lamborghinis and maseratis freely roam the streets. Seven star hotel, the tallest tower in the world, and the hottest weather I have ever endured, Dubai was a place of superlatives. What I saw and experienced is something I can not put in words but I am sure I will carry in my heart forever.

So I encourage you all to dream wildly enough to think that you will make it to the smallest crevices of the world. It does not matter where you are but where you want to go. Money is irrelevant and time is of the essence. Eat new foods, pray to whatever higher power helps you daily, and love every moment. Your soul will thank you.

2 thoughts on “Eat, (PR)ay, Love

  1. Kevin O'Neill says:

    Thrilled you enjoyed your journey and, as your blog testifies, that it was so valuable to you. You were richly deserving of the opportunity, glad you made the most of it. Best, KO

  2. Dean Branham says:

    I am so glad you had a wonderful time and that you made the most of the experience. Welcome home!

    Dean Branham

Leave a Reply

