Personal Brands We Love: Neffy Anderson, Social Media Connoisseur

head shot (1)Putting Neffy Anderson into words is difficult because her accomplishments in the entertainment industry at such a young age are impressive. She has created her own opportunities transitioning from intern to social media correspondent, interviewing some of today’s hottest celebrities that visit BET’s 106 & Park and managing the network’s social media accounts. Her personal brand is spot on with her personality: colorful, vibrant and motivational. Whether she is sharing Neffy’s Notes on instagram or talking about her latest project on Twitter, she doesn’t miss an opportunity to own her greatness and share what she has learned. Neffy teaches us the importance of being positive, self-aware and having confidence in your abilities. Read more about Neffy below and get tips on building your own personal brand.

 

Describe your personal brand in three words

Authentic. Inspirational. Excellence.

30 second elevator pitch, Go!

Hi, my name is Neffy Anderson and I am a social media coordinator and correspondent at Black Entertainment Television. I manage the social media presence of the network’s brand accounts, tier one shows, and specials. I also conduct celebrity interviews for 106 & Park, BET’s most popular music series of all time. My work collectively reaches an audience of 10MIL people daily. My next project will allow me to share my experiences in the industry as I have them and use that as a tool for college students and young professionals to actualize their dreams faster, smarter, and with more support / resources.

Current position and your typical work day

As a social media coordinator and correspondent there is no such thing as a “typical work day,” which is what I love (and sometimes hate) about my job. Managing BET’s social media platforms is like running a virtual newspaper — you have to get the news that people care about or need to know fast and first. Sometimes the story is so big (deaths, marriages, births, shootings, groundbreaking advancements in a specific field, etc.) it changes the structure of your whole day. As a correspondent, you’re at the mercy of the talent — your schedule revolves around theirs. So, pretty much half the time my day doesn’t go as planned, but here’s an outline.

  • 8AM :: My 2hr trip from home to office begins (during this time I do my makeup and upload my inspirational quote of the day (via #NeffysNotes) across my social platforms)
  • 10AM – 5PM :: I’m in the office scheduling social media posts, attending meetings/conference calls, strategizing marketing tactics around upcoming shows & specials
  • 5PM – 6:30PM :: I head over to the other BET office and conduct backstage interviews for 106 & Park
  • 7PM -9PM :: 2hr commute home (during this time I read a magazine or self help book)
  • 10PM – til I fall asleep :: Upload & promotion of the interview I did that evening. Planning / execution of taking the “Neffy Anderson” brand to the next level.

How have you developed your brand?

The most significant way I’ve developed my brand is by creating my own website & buying a domain name, deciding whether or not to use my real name (Nefertiti) or my nickname (Neffy,) speaking the vision that I have for my life out loud to the people I come in contact with as often as possible, creating a public Facebook page, and allowing people to join me on my journey to actualizing my dreams via photos, videos,and text (to build my fan base/ support system.)

Explain the role that your personal brand played in getting you to where you are today.

AUTHENTICITY: When I was a child I hated my name because of how different it sounded in comparison to others. As I got older, I learned to appreciate my name and developed a newfound sense of self worth and individuality. I have since made a lifelong commitment to embrace what makes me different and empower others to do the same. EXCELLENCE: I take pride in my work and anything else that has my name associated with it. My track record of being someone of quality has allowed employers to trust me with bigger projects and responsibilities, which in turn has helped to advance my career more quickly. INSPIRATION: My mottos are “Encouragement, Pass It on.” and “Your success is my success.” Life is hard. I use every opportunity that I get to encourage others and motivate them to keep going. Anytime I make someone else’s light shine I make my shine as well.

How did you garner press coverage and media attention?

My aggressive campaign for 106 The Search, BET’s talent scout for the next host of 106 & Park, allowed me to get press coverage. My former boss from Z100 came across one of my promotional posts on Facebook and encouraged the Elvis Duran Morning show listeners to support me via on-air shout outs and a profile on their website.

Personal brands attract opportunities. What has been the greatest opportunity you have gotten?

The greatest opportunity I’ve gotten is to work for BET. Working at BET means a lot because: 1. I started out as an intern 2. It’s my first paid job within the entertainment industry 3. It’s the gift that keeps on giving. Each assignment presents new opportunities to expand my skill set, network, and career options.

Who are some of your mentors and why?

Hinda Barlaz, Donna Michelle Anderson, and Joanne Morris are some of the people I turn to for career guidance. Barlaz, Adelphi University’s Learning Center Coordinator, prepares me for the opportunities I have now and the opportunities I want in the future. She helps with writing speeches, applications for higher learning, and devising a clear actionable plan for me to get from where I am now to where I want to be. Anderson and Morris collectively have done everything that you can think of when it comes to the entertainment industry, including writing, producing, and running award-winning shows. Both advise me on how to navigate within the industry to get what and where I want.

What were the steps you took in college that impacted your professional success?

3 things I did in college that most impacted my professional success was becoming a Resident Assistant, spinning class assignments to work towards my career goals, and maximizing use of all the resources available to me (expensive software programs, students/faculty, equipment, events etc.)

What would you say to a young person who wants to work in your industry?

CREATE YOUR OWN OPPORTUNITIES. Do the job that you hope to get in the future now, just on a lower scale. Create a website AND LinkedIn to showcase your work. Use social media for business AND pleasure. Follow the career accounts of the brands and companies that you hope to work for. Don’t have money to pay for help? Use the barter system.

What can we expect from you in the near future?

Currently I’m developing a YouTube program to share my professional experiences as I have them so viewers can learn how to replicate my success, avoid my mistakes, and overcome the challenges along the way. The show will be shot as a video diary and will include motivational interviews with successful individuals /entrepreneurs I meet on the journey to actualizing my dreams. Also, I’m revamping my website, neffyanderson.com! I’ve teamed up with fine art photographer, Nastassia Davis, to do a conceptual photo shoot for the site makeover. Check out her work at NastassiaDavis.com

Connect With Neffy!

Neffyanderson.com| LinkedIn | @neffyanderson

Leave a Reply

